Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Motorcycle Helmet Laws by State

Motorcycle Helmet Laws By State
Motorcycle Helmet Laws By State

As you might have expected, the history of the United States’ universal helmet laws, which is a more appetizing way of referring to mandatory helmet laws for both the rider and passenger without exceptions in a state, have in large part been formed by the federal government’s laws.
The first Federal push for required helmet usage was in 1966 when Congress passed the Highway Safety Act. The Act required states to have universal motorcycle helmet laws or federal funds for highway construction would be withheld.
By 1975, all but three states had enacted mandatory universal helmet laws before Congress repealed the requirements and subsequent penalties. Five years later, only nineteen states and Washington DC had universal helmet laws.
In 1991, the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act changed the federal government’s method of persuading states helmet laws by giving states incentives. Again, this changed the mix of mandatory helmet laws, but in 1995, this act was repealed.
Since 1996, there has been a ban on federal funds to enact mandatory helmet laws from being used to lobby state and local governments for required helmet laws. Noteworthy, as recently as last month, a revision to a proposed amendment will continue this ban if the bill is passed by the Senate.
Over the years, there have been many changes in state helmet laws and a lot of states have various stipulations, but here are the general motorcycle helmet laws by state:
Alabama: All Riders
Alaska: Under 18
Arizona: Under 18
Arkansas: Under 21
California: All Riders
Colorado: Under 18
Connecticut: Under 18
Delaware: Under 19
Florida: Under 21
Georgia: All Riders
Hawaii: Under 18
Idaho: Under 18
Illinois: Not Required
Indiana: Under 18
Iowa: Not Required

Motorcycle Helmet Laws by State: Leatherup Blog